Ruckus’s journey home

July 8, 2009 at 10:02 am 8 comments

I am borrowing Loafy’s blog today to tell you about my story:

101_1073I was living in the shelter and had been there for a few days. I had been brought in around the first week of February 2008. I was put out for adoption on February 11. Two days later my life changed.

I didn’t see her come in – I was busy sleeping. But the next thing I knew, someone was picking me up and taking me out of my cage.

I was taken to a room and handed off to someone else. She was warm, talked softly to me and petted me. I sat on her lap a few minutes, before I decided to explore. I jumped down and started smelling around the floor. She didn’t leave. She just stayed and petted me and talked softly to me.

A few minutes later, she left the room. I was scooped back up and put into my cage again. But this time, there was a sign attached to my door. I couldn’t read the backwards handwriting though.

I went back to sleep, and woke up early the next morning. I went about my day, and exercized with the other kitties and slept in the big room with them.

About lunchtime, a guy came in. He was brought over to the room I was in. He smelled good, kinda like meats. I laid down on his lap. He smiled and petted me.
A few minutes later, someone came to check on him.
“Do you like her? Isn’t she sweet?” They asked him.
“Yes. She’s very nice. I’d like to take her home now, if that’s ok.”
The worker nodded, and led him out of the room. I stayed in and watched as he filled out paperwork and came back for me.

“Alright, little one. Time to take you home.” He picked me up and put me in a cardboard carrying case.
I watched through the holes as we went outside, then into his car. As soon as I was safely inside he opened the lid so I could see out.

Slowly, I walked out, and sat on his lap. We drove quickly, and before I knew it, I was back in the carboard case, being carried into my new home.

ATT206824When I was safe inside, I was released again. Everything was new! He showed me where my litterbox was, my food bowl and all my new toys! He kept talking about it being Valentines Day, and how he and Susan were so excited that I was their little Valentine! I dunno what he meant, but I got some treats!

0214081533
This was the first picture I ever had taken at my new home!

I didn’t want to play- I wanted to bond with my new owner.

A few hours later, another owner came home! It was the lady from the day before! I had two new owners!

Two months later, I got my little sister, Meatloafy.

We’ve been a happy family ever since.
n30302917_33114605_8510
I can’t believe Iwas that little!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

When the hoomans brought me home. Pandora’s box

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cherrow414  |  July 8, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Aww Ruckus, you’re my favorite basement kittah. I’m glad I’m your Auntie!

    Reply
  • 2. Cat Gamer  |  July 8, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Aw, you look adorable. I love cats a lot too, have 3 right now here. Take care little friend 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. rich  |  July 8, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    I have a basement kitty too as cute as you are… ^^ I’m so glad that you and meatloafy have such a good family… ^^

    btw, I’m posting something on my blog… can I post your pictures (you & meatloafy) there? I’ll just put your blog link on my sources… I hope it’s okay… ^^ my blogs post’s about you… ^^

    Reply
  • 4. The Meatloafy  |  July 8, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    🙂 Of course you can use our piktures!
    I am excited to see anuther blog post about me 🙂
    Yays!! You are an awesome hooman!

    Reply
  • 5. rich  |  July 8, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    it’s on my blog already… ^^ thanks for letting me use your pictures… 😀

    next time I’ll post another blog about my cats and I’ll put your there as well… 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. The Meatloafy  |  July 8, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    I saws! 🙂 Yay! I want to knows about your kitties!

    Reply
  • 7. Technochase  |  July 9, 2009 at 5:56 am

    Hey! We have same black cats. Difference is mine’s cuter! Just kiddin’. Nice site btw.

    Reply
  • 8. Adopting black kitties « Themeatloafy's Blog  |  October 27, 2009 at 10:05 am

    […] 14, 2008. I was the lone black kitty, laying alone in my cage. You can read the whole story here. Anyways, I wanted to hijack the blog today to talk to you all about what happens to black kitties […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My site was nominated for Best Animal Blogger!