Adopting black kitties

October 27, 2009 at 10:05 am 3 comments

Ruckus here. Well, as all of you should know by now, I’m a black kitty.
ruckusonbathroomfloor

Laydee adopted me almost two years ago, on February 14, 2008. I was the lone black kitty, laying alone in my cage. You can read the whole story here.
Anyways, I wanted to hijack the blog today to talk to you all about what happens to black kitties and doggies.

We don’t get adopted often. Usually, we’re either the last to get adopted, or we don’t get adopted at all.

According to our friend Jennifer, who works for the Michigan Humane Society, during the Halloween season, animal welfare organizations may handle the situation in different manners. While some do refuse to adopt out black cats during this time, others may employ creative promotional campaigns to help place these difficult-to-adopt animals in good homes. Of course, there should always be an emphasis on a careful adoption screening process.  

I has to agree. I am very happy my momma and dadee adopted me, and I know it wasn’t just because I was a pretty black kitty. I know they love me because I am very awesome!!

 Do you have a black kitty, like me, or a black doggie? Or, are you a black kitty or doggie?

And, just because it’s Halloween, here are some tips from MHS for Halloween safety for us animals!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

oh no, pwease! Wow!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rich  |  October 27, 2009 at 11:00 am

    I used to have black kitties and I love them so much. 🙂 Black kitties are opposite from what other people know. They aren’t mean cats like what others thought. They’re so sweet. They always greet me each time they see me. Plus they love being petted or carried. They love sleeping in my lap too. 🙂

    Unfortunately, there’s no black kitties left in the house now. Because they were too old, they left us years ago. 😦 I missed having black cats. They are so pretty. 🙂 I love their fur. Being black makes their fur shiny. 🙂

    I hope other people would see the beauty in black kitties. 🙂 Black is beautiful! 🙂 I’d love to adopt a black kitten if I’ll get a chance.

    Reply
  • 2. @ShawneeShep  |  October 27, 2009 at 11:36 am

    We ♥ black kittehs and doggies. We has a black kitteh wot is named Claude. We think it is sad that peeples overlook black anipals for adopshuns – that is plain silly!

    Reply
  • 3. Auntie Cherrow  |  October 27, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Ruckus,
    You are so adorable. I wish I could adopt a black kitty just like you, but I am allergic to cats. Instead, I will just have to buy presents for you and also for kitties at shelters like the humane society.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My site was nominated for Best Animal Blogger!

The Meatloafy's Recent Posts

The Meatloafy’s Twitter


